17 May 2009

good evening Moscow

The final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest is on TV tonight, hosted by Russia in Moscow, as last year's winner was Russian.

I am not going to stay up to watch all the counting though... "good evening Moscow, here are the results from the Swedish vote. Eight points go to United Kingdom, , huit point pwarnt pour Royaume-Uni ... twelve points go to Greece, douze points pwarnt pour La Grèce" etc

This year, the undignified nul point pwarnt is no longer awarded. Makes sense really. A country is getting nothing, so there is no point (ha ha ha, I made a pun) in mentioning it. In any case, only 8, 10 and 12 points awarded are now announced to cut down on the time.

Tonight's telecast isn't live so we already know who the winner is.

Alexander Rybak from Norway with Fairytale

The entry from Greece - Sakis Rouvas singing This is our night - was written by Australians. Oh my. Perhaps that is why he didn't win. Sakis needs to ensure when he goes shopping for shirts, that they actually fit.

The entry from Germany - Alex Swings Oscar Sings singing Miss Kiss Kiss Bang - was unfortunately in English so didn't deserve to win anyway. US burlesque artist Dita Von Teese was just a prop. Oscar Loya may as well have been one too. The photo must have been taken at the semi-final as Dita was more covered in the final (as 'ordered').

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Janet Jackson's "wardrobe malfunction" probably wouldn't have raised an eyebrow in Europe.